Your Subtitle text

State partners

Administrators

Karen Shirer
Associate Dean
University of Minnesota Extension
490 Coffey Hall
1420 Eckles Ave
St. Paul, MN 56108
Phone: 612-625-3971 | shire008@umn.edu

USDA Contacts

Aida Balsano
National Program Leader
Child and Family Development
USDA – National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)
Phone: 202-720-4436 | 

Regular Mail: 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Mail Stop 2225, Washington, DC 20250-2225
Courier/Deliveries: Waterfront Centre, Room 4401, 800 9th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20024

California 

Lenna Ontai (PI[RFSH])
Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension
Human & Community Development
University of California
2327 Hart Hall 
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: 530-752-6410  |  lontai@ucdavis.edu
Karen Varcoe (PI[RFS], Co-PI[RFSH])
Extension Consumer Economist/Management Specialist
139 Highlander Hall, Building C
University of California
Riverside, CA 92521
Phone: 951-827-5241  |  karen.varcoe@ucr.edu




Dorothy Smith (Co-PI[RFSH])
Cooperative Extension Advisor
University of California
891 Mountain Ranch Rd
San Andreas, CA 95249
Phone: 209-754-6476


Hawaii
 

Loriena A. Yancura (PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
Department of Family & Consumer Sciences
University of Hawaii at Manoa
2515 Campus Rd., Miller Hall 201B
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: 808-956-2254 

Illinois 

Ramona Faith Oswald (PI[RFSH])
Professor
Department of Human & Community Development
University of Illinois
263 Bevier Hall, MC-180
905 South Goodwin Avenue, M/C 180
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-333-2547  |  roswald@illinois.edu
Elizabeth Holman (Student)
Dept. of Human and Community Development
263 Bevier Hall, MC-180
905 South Goodwin Avenue
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: 217-244-7128 eholman@illinois.edu


Iowa 

Kimberly Greder (PI[RFS, RFSH])
Associate Professor
Human Development & Family Studies
Families Extension State Program Specialist
Iowa State University
56 Baron Hall
Ames, IA 50011-4380
Phone: 515-294-5906  |   kgreder@iastate.edu
Christine Cook (Co-PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
Human Development & Family Studies
Iowa State University
2358 Palmer
Ames, IA 50011-4380
Phone: 515-294-8695  cccook@iastate.edu





Flor Romero-Slowing (Student)
Angelica Reina (Student)
Kimberly Doudna (Student)


Kentucky

Patricia Hyjer Dyk (PI[RFS, RFSH])
Director of the Center For Leadership & Development
Department of Community & Leadership Development
University of Kentucky
710 W.P. Garrigus Building
Lexington, KY 40546-0215
Phone: 859-257-3228  |  pdyk@uky.edu

Research Assistant
University of Kentucky
714 Garrigus Bldg.
Lexington, KY 40546-0215
Phone: 859-333-9972
     

Katie Founds (Student)


Louisiana* 

Fran Lawrence (PI[RFS], Affiliate [RFSH])
Editor, Journal of Financial Counseling and Planning
Gerald Cire and Lena Grand Williams Alumni Professor
Department of Finance
Louisiana State University
Patrick F. Taylor Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone: 225-578-1726  |   flawrence@lsu.edu

Maryland

Bonnie Braun (PI[RFS], Co-PI[CHM, DCHM])
Professor, Department of Family Science
Faculty Scholar, Herschel S. Horowitz Center
for Health Literacy

University of Maryland
1142Z School of Public Health
College Park, MD 20742-7515  |   BBraun@umd.edu
Elisabeth Fost Maring, Ph.D.
Research Assistant, Professor
Global Public Health Scholars, Director
Department of Family Science
1142N School of Public Health
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: (301) 405.8339 | efmaring@umd.edu        

Massachusetts 
 
Sheila Mammen (PI[RFS,RFSH]], PI[CHM,DCHM])
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Department of Resource Economics
309 Stockbridge Hall
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-2470  |  Fax: 413-545-5853
Shir Inbar (Student)

Andrew Shepherd (Student)
  ashepherd@umass.edu


 Michigan
David Imig (PI[RFS])
Retired
 


Minnesota* 

Jean W. Bauer (PI[RFS], Affiliate [RFSH])
In Memoriam
Mary Jo Katras, (PI[RFSH])


Nebraska 

Catherine Huddleston-Casas (PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
Child, Youth & Family Studies
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Arts & Sciences Hall 102B
Phone: 402-554-3416 |  chuddleston-casas2@unl.edu

Susan Churchill (PI[RFS], Co-PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
Child, Youth & Family Studies
University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
131 Home Economics
Lincoln, NE 68583-0801
Phone: 402-472-0572  |  schurchi@unlnotes.unl.edu
     

Leigh Ann Simmons (Co-PI)


New Hampshire 

Elizabeth Dolan (PI[RFS, RFSH])
University of New Hampshire
Family Studies
218 Pettee Hall
55 College Road
Durham, NH 03824
Phone: 603-862-2137  |  e.dolan@unh.edu 
Suzann Enzian Knight (Co-PI[RFS, RFSH])
Extension Specialist
Family Resource Management
UNH Cooperative Extension
308 Pettee Hall
55 College Road
Durham, NH 03824
Phone: 603-862-0092  |  Fax: 603-862-3271

New York 

Emily Hauenstein (Affiliate)
 

North Carolina 

Carolyn L. Bird (PI[RFSH])
Assistant Professor
Family & Resource Management Specialist
Department of 4-H Youth Development and Family & Consumer Science
North Carolina State University
Campus Box 7605
Raleigh, NC 27695-7605
Phone: 919-513-7793  |  Carolyn_Bird@ncsu.edu 
Selda Coskuner (Student)

Ohio

Sharon B. Seiling (PI[RFS], Affiliate [RFSH])
Associate Professor
Department of Consumer Sciences
College of Education & Human Ecology
Ohio State University
265 H. Campbell Hall
1787 Neil Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: 614-292-4224  |  sseiling@ehe.osu.edu 
  Oregon

Leslie Richards (PI[RFS])

Oregon State University
Dept. Of Human Development & Family Sciences
322 Milam Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331-5106
Phone: 541-737-1071 | leslie.richards@oregonstate.edu

South Dakota 

Assistant Professor
Counseling & Human Development
South Dakota State University
Counseling & Human Development-Box 2275A
Brookings, SD 57707
Voice: 605-688-6104  |  Cell: 605-651-3197  |  sally.gillman@sdstate.edu

Tennessee 

Ann A. Berry (Affiliate[RFS]) PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
University of Tennessee
Family & Consumer Science
119 Morgan Hall
2621 Morgan Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-4501
Phone: 865-974-8745  | aaberry@utk.edu

Janie Burney  (Co-PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
University of Tennessee
Family & Consumer Science
119 Morgan Hall
2621 Morgan Circle Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-4501
Phone: 865-974-8745  | jburney@utk.edu
     

Betty Greer (Co-PI[RFSH]) 
bgreer@utk.edu

Shea Austin (Student)

Texas
 

Assistant Professor
School of Social Work
Stephen F. Austin State University
P.O. Box 6104, SFA Station
420 E Starr Ave.
Nacogdoches, TX 75962
Phone: 936-468-1169  |  bicewigit@sfasu.edu 

Virginia*

Anisa Zvonkovic  (Affiliate[RFSH])
Professor & Department Head
Human Development
Virginia Tech University
366A Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6110

Washington

Yoshie Sano (PI[RFS, RFSH], Co-PI(CHM, DCHM])
Assistant Professor
Department of Human Development
Washington State University Vancouver
219 McClaskey
14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98686
Phone: 360-546-9124  yoshie_sano@vancouver.wsu.edu 
Suzanne Smith  (Co-PI[RFSH])
Associate Professor
Department of Human Development
Washington State University Vancouver
201 McClaskey
14204 NE Salmon Creek Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98686
Phone: 360-546-9174

     

Hodesi Tabatabaei (Student)


Wyoming*

Kari Morgan  (Affiliate[RFSH])
Asociate Professor
Dept. FCS
University of Wyoming
1000 E. University Ave., Dept. 3354
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-5111  |  Cell: 307-760-9067  |  kmorgan@uwyo.edu


* state not currently collecting data

This website was supported by the Rural Health and Safety Education Competitive Program of the USDA Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service, grant numbers 2010-46100-21791 and 2011-46100-31135.